American Classic 420 Black wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

420 Black is the best do-it-all wheels on the market and strong enough for racing or training. Responsive and smooth with a lightweight, deep aerodynamic profile. Lighter than most wheels since deep rims do not need as many spokes.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Aug 17, 2011]
Colmanchiro
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast rolling aero profile, solid year after year in all conditions.

Weakness:

Break tracks are soft so you need carbon specific SwissStop pads which cost more and don't work as well as a standard abrasion pad.

Before you freak on the price paid my rear has a PowerTap SL+ power meter laced into it. Fantastic Wheelset only needed truing once. Aero but light and fast rolling.

Similar Products Used:

Easton aero and Ritchie wcs.

[Aug 28, 2010]
ColoColo
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

weight (or lack thereof)

Weakness:

None (yet)

I got these babies last week. I waited until I received the Ultegra Cassette to try them out. Compared to my Fulcrum racing 7s, this is a total change. It feels like a different road bike. The bearings are smooth and the wheels spin forever it seems. These are 1530 grams so I shave over a pound and it made a huge difference going uphill. Cheap compared to others in the same weight stage. As far as durability goes, its too early to tell. I will post eventually how they perform under stress situations...

Similar Products Used:

Fulcrum Racing 7s (1930 g)

[Oct 22, 2009]
Dave
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

wheels stayed true (till hub cracked) and felt nice, light and aero

Weakness:

front hub cracks!

Bought Jun 2008 from chainreaction in the UK online and shipped to Australia. Liked them till now (16 months later). Rode <5000km on these wheels in this time without hitting anything so they've had a good life. Oct 2009 a spoke pulled a big crack in the front hub. That's one dodgy hub! have contacted supplier and american classic, I'll report how it goes with them!

[Sep 26, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Wheels have stayed true since purchase 3 years ago. Love the black and white graphics and excellent braking surface. Good clamping from the skewers. Lighter than my Ritchey OCR 24-spoke wheels with Record Hubs.

Weakness:

Paint on the spoke nipples wore off on some spots, minimalist hub design which does cause cone loosening, but not that big of a job as long as you have a 15 mm cone wrench.

American Classic CR420 Black. I had some hesitation after reading some of the old reviews with the cones losening, etc. Not really a big deal as long as you have a 15 mm cone wrench. The cone assembly has a minimalist design to save weight, but not that fragile as I've repacked the bearings at the end of each season without any incident. With this minimalist design, you will very likely need to adjust the cones once each season due to some side-to-side play that comes about from use. I ride on smooth and rough pavement and even rode once or twice on a trail. The front and rear have stayed true. I have NEVER trued these wheels, but have worked on the cones as discussed. Stiff, light and inexpensive. Would like to see a tubeless design at some point.

Similar Products Used:

Ambrosio Wheels 32 spoke, Ritchey OCR Wheels 24-spoke.

[May 02, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strong. Lite. Look Nice.

Weakness:

Locktite on Spoke nipples.

This is a very good wheel set. I have been riding these for training for the last 3+ years. I have over 11K on the first set and am having them rebuilt as a precaution - not because they need it.

There was a recall issue with the hubs back 2 years ago. American Classic was a pleasure to work with. Had them fixed and back going in no time. I weigh just over 180lbs at the beginning of the season and I ride these wheels pretty hard. American Classic uses something like lock tite on the spokes so adjusting them requires a special spoke wrench.

For me they are a wheel set I trust and can easily maintain the hubs

Similar Products Used:

Mavic, Zipp

[Dec 31, 2007]
Marc
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Super light without going over $1000. Bearings run forever.

Weakness:

Backwheel will get a little side to side play after about 2500 miles but only takes about 5 min. to correct.

Top knotch wheelset. I'm on my 3rd set of 420's since 2003. I've had them on 4 different bikes and I'm about to buy another set. Bearings are like silk. I clean and regrease mine once a year. My first set is still running with close to 12,000 miles and have never needed truing. 2nd set had 3500 miles on them when sold. Current set has 4000+ miles with no truing needed.

Similar Products Used:

All I ride is American Classic

[Oct 24, 2007]
mmeeks
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

relatively light and aero clincher.

Weakness:

none that i have found

great wheelset, around 5000 miles on them and still true. highly recommended

[May 07, 2007]
Kevin
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

light

Weakness:

Bearing and hub design

Poor bearing design, constant maintenance required. Bearings will consistently loosen on the rear wheel. Customer service at AC is not helpful to the dealer

Similar Products Used:

Mavic, Easton Great products, no problems

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.