American Classic Carbon 38 wheelsets - tubular

DESCRIPTION

  • Rims: Carbon tubular
  • Rim Depth: 38mm
  • Hub Front: Micro 58
  • Bearings Rear: 6803 C3 sealed stainless steel
  • Spokes: AC 14/15 gauge
  • Quick Release: Cro-moly
  • Spacing: 130mm
  • Weight: Starting at 1085 grams

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-4 of 4  
[Aug 28, 2008]
Steve Close
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Light, fast. Good for climbing.

Weakness:

Poor workmanship, unreliable, limited warranty.

I bought Carbon tubular 38 mm about 3 years ago from All Three Sports. Mind you, though purchased 3 years ago, the wheels were used mainly for special events, so low mileage. Also, I only weigh 145 pounds, so not especially hard on wheels. From the git go, nothing but problems. First a nice little crash due to defective hub which had to be replaced. A year or so later a crack developed at a spoke hole, so back for replacement. Most recently the front rim cracked going over a minor bump. I called AC and was informed their warranty is good for only one year, so no replacing their garbage wheel. I might add, the rear wheel is very flexy. Even at my relatively low power, it bends almost to the well open brake pads. If you feel you want to risk over a grand on these wheels, good luck!

[Aug 28, 2008]
Steve Close
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Light, fast. Good for climbing.

Weakness:

Poor workmanship, unreliable, limited warranty.

I bought Carbon tubular 38 mm about 3 years ago from All Three Sports. Mind you, though purchased 3 years ago, the wheels were used mainly for special events, so low mileage. Also, I only weigh 145 pounds, so not especially hard on wheels. From the git go, nothing but problems. First a nice little crash due to defective hub which had to be replaced. A year or so later a crack developed at a spoke hole, so back for replacement. Most recently the front rim cracked going over a minor bump. I called AC and was informed their warranty is good for only one year, so no replacing their garbage wheel. I might add, the rear wheel is very flexy. Even at my relatively low power, it bends almost to the well open brake pads. If you feel you want to risk over a grand on these wheels, good luck!

[Jul 08, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast, light, acceleration, cost's less than those pricey Zipps

Weakness:

None after thousands of miles ridden.

Best Wheelset on the market today. I have two sets. One with ceramic bearings and Sapim spoke upgrade. This wheelset is super light and fast. Acceleration is awesome, immediate power transfer to the wheels. Flys up hills and mountains. Awesome, what more can I say. Oh yea awesome customer service from the folks at AmClassic also.

Similar Products Used:

FSA RD600 wheelset, Bontrager junk, Zipp 404

[Jan 28, 2007]
rgojr2001
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Acceleration
Super light weight wo the huge price tag

Weakness:

Braking could be a little better, but so could the operator

I picked these wheels up off eBay last August and they have not failed to impress. I was using Bontrager RaceXLites that came with my Trek 5200.
All I can really say is that its a ton of fun to accelerate past people on an uphill now. The acceleration is nearly instant, as fast as you can think it your making it happen.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager RaceX Lites

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.