American Classic Carbon Wheelset wheelsets - tubular

DESCRIPTION

  • American Classic's Micro Front Hub and Ultralight Cassette Hub
  • Rims: 38mm deep-V tubular
  • Front: 650c from 398 grams; 700c from 426 grams
  • Rear: 650c from 583 grams; 700c from 614 grams

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 12  
    [Nov 02, 2006]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Low weight, Durable, Fast and Aero

    Weakness:

    Mine didn't come with Sapim CX-Ray spokes. I have plans to upgrade the spokes this year.

    These came on a Trek 5200 that I bought used. I have since sold the bike, but kept the wheels. I have used them in about 10 rides and 15 races. They are simply awesome. They spool up fast and are great climbing wheels. The low weight and fast acceleration make for a great wheel for both road races and crits. I have went down twice with these wheels and got hit so hard at the sprint finish of a road race (dork beside me lost control of his bike) that the rear derailleur was shoved into the spokes and broke the derailleur hanger. And this happened at around 28 mph. The wheel didn't even need truing. All that happened is a nice shiny circle where the spokes were rubbed by the derailleur for several revolutions until I could stop. I also went down hard in another race right before a corner. Front wheel did need slight truing, but it was a fast fix. Bottom line is that these wheels are durable! Light, Fast, Durable and inexpensive compared to Zipps. Other than that truing, I have not had to do anything else to these wheels. I have put around 1700 miles on them.

    Similar Products Used:

    Mavic, Easton, Zipp

    [Apr 25, 2006]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Aero,Light,Stiff

    Weakness:

    Not cheap, but I think a good value

    So far so good. Light Zipp rims. Stiff 28 spoke count. Very true. 1186 grams

    Similar Products Used:

    Many clincher wheelsets

    [Sep 01, 2004]
    mjolnir2k
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    FAST, FAST, FAST wheels Lighter than air Easy service hubs Strong Rims

    Weakness:

    Wet weather braking Crosswinds get your attention in a hurry price (unless you shop eBay)

    I'll skip to the punchline...these are the BEST wheels I have ever used. Here's why: These are basically the Zipp 330's that have been reBadged as Am. Classic's. They are the exact same rim. Am. Classic then builds them up using their hubs, which are very nice and easily maintained due to the greaseports. Weight: Lighter than a cool summer breeze. Mine weigh in at EXACTLY 1103 grams for the PAIR. Performance: Do to the light weight, these wheels spin up faster than a blender on PUREE. They are very stiff and seem to love hard acceleration (used them for 8 crit races this season). Also, as you might have guessed, when the road tilts upwards these wheels REALLY shine. When you consider the Mavic Ksyium SSC SL's (which are great top end wheels) weigh in at a full POUND more than these, you can understand why the uphills are the Am. Classics' specialty. Downside: They are moderately deep dish CARBON rims (33mm). Therefore crosswinds are not your friend and braking in wet weather is non-existant. If you have to stop when it's wet out, plan WAY ahead! Durability: At the risk of jinxing myself, I have been running these wheels for about 1,600+ miles with NO problems at all. I have done numerous crit races and about 6 road races this season on them with great result (the wheels, not me). These wheels just make you feel faster because they ARE faster.

    Similar Products Used:

    Mavic Helium Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL Shimano 7701-c Carbon

    [Jul 22, 2004]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    In the few races where I didn't need a 25 cog (see above for spoke clearance design flaw) and prior to the rim cracking, the wheels were super. They're very fast on the flats and spin up especially well.

    Weakness:

    See above for description of rim defect and flawed hub design.

    I have 2004 A.C. Carbon 38mm Mid V tubulars. After several road races on smooth surfaced-courses, the rear wheel developed a big crack from along one of the visible carbon fiber seams. The wheel was subjected to zero abuse, was not crashed, etc. I understand that defects occur, but I give these wheels the poorest rating for another troubling factor. The new A.C. hub is extremely narrow, the theory being that the spoke tensions on drive and non-drive sides will be more balanced. Great theory, but the result is that your rear derailleur will hit the spokes in your top cog (25 for me) since the spokes travel almost straight down from hub to rim. I have a standard setup (Litespeed with 10sp. Dura Ace) and simply could not eliminate this problem. My der. is limited to the max, max. amt. of spacers between hub and cassette, "b" screw adjustment maxed (to give pulley greatest spoke clearance), der. hanger perfectly aligned, etc. This is a problem I'm hearing a lot about lately. I'm not happy to give such a poor review, but my experience was terrible. I'm waiting to see how long A.C. will take to send me a new wheel, but I'm not holding my breath as they were very slow in shipping when new. Hopefully, their customer service/tech. support is a level above the quality and design of the current model carbon wheelset.

    Similar Products Used:

    Zipp and Reynolds. Neither caused me the problems that these A.C.'s did.

    [Jul 23, 2003]
    melmatt
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Wound up very fast, light, stiff, great acceleration,

    Weakness:

    None so far

    I just got back from Superweek in WI and raced the 58mm deep section rims in the Monday and Tuesday road races. These wheels are amazingly light, super stiff, and can really take a beating. I am 6'1 and 165lbs and put a little more wear on my wheels than most. As always, there was one hole I kept hitting over and over on Mondays road race. I hit it so hard the first time I thought I broke my rear drop outs. I hit it again 2 more times, like an idiot, that's what happens when you are in the gutter at 45mph cause the pros are pushing the pace!!!!! Anyway, the wheels have worked very nicely. The only maintenance I have had to do is get the rear hub tightened as it had some play when I received it from AC. You can't go wrong with Zipp hubs laced by to silky smooth hubs and built by the pro's at AC!

    Similar Products Used:

    Zipp and Crane Creek

    [Jun 20, 2003]
    Adrian
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Weight Stiffness Acceleration

    Weakness:

    Avoid potholes!

    Purchased 38mm wheel 18front 24rear. Exceptionally light wheels, smooth hubs. Give very fast acceleration. Would recommend buying wheels direct as they can be built to your weight for max stiffness and strength. Brake very well wet or dry even with normal Clarks brake pads. Front rim did crack on hard impact with pothole however during race at ~35mph. Replacement came via council as was there responsibility for poor road surface.

    Similar Products Used:

    Shimano R535 Mavic Reflex/MA3 on Ultegra hubs

    [Jun 15, 2003]
    mbjel
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Sick light, resonably stiff - felt stiffer than R540s intially in fact. Accelerate effortlessly. Rims seem very durable.

    Weakness:

    With lower spoke counts not for heavier > 150 or stronger riders.

    I had the 38mm deep wheels. The wheels were nice when I first go them stiff, light, etc. I got them from ebay -new never ridden and they had just 16 spokes in the front and 20 in the back (I would have opted for more if I had purchased them directly). After about 6 races the wheels had it. I could not get the spokes to stay - they constantly would go out of true after any hard effort. Faced with a rebuild and the likehood that this would happen again I sold them to someone about 35 lbs lighter than me (I'm 170) and he is quite happy. Perhaps with more and thicker spokes (it had 14/17 revolutions) I would have been ok.

    [Apr 30, 2003]
    kmolloyny
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Stiff for sprints, super light, fast on the flats (aero) and fast up the hills.

    Weakness:

    Braking in the rain with standard brake pads

    I ride the sew-up version. These wheels are simply amazing. They accelerate extremely fast and would probably make any bike feel fast. i've crashed on them and they are durable and have ridden over bad roads and they hold up very well. Overall outstanding wheelset.

    Similar Products Used:

    ksyriums, ritchey WCS

    [Apr 01, 2003]
    dkreasoner
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Weight, quality of hubs and rims

    Weakness:

    fragility

    I bought these new in the box from a teammate for won an ebay auction but suffered from buyer regret. They are crazy light and ride great. I rode them in a hilly crit last week and crashed. The back wheel broke and the front was hopelessly out of true. I am send them to AM to have them rebuilt. They quoted two weeks and the price of the rims ($220/rim). I was hoping to get more than one race out of them.

    Similar Products Used:

    cosmic carbone, open pros

    [Jul 29, 2002]
    ndeibert
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Light weight and great hubs.

    Weakness:

    None so far.

    I just bought these wheels last week and have only been able to ride them twice so far. They are the 58mm section rims. In fact, American Classic buys the carbon rims from Zipp and laces them up to American Classic hubs. So far the wheels are great. They are super light, roll super smooth, and feel quite durable for being so light. I only weight 145lbs, so for a heavier rider, these may not be a good wheel choice. I did a 30 mile crit with them yesterday and they corner like you're on rails. I can't wait to take them out on a good climbing ride. So far I only have praise for these wheels.

    Similar Products Used:

    Spinergy Rev-X, Mavic Ksyerium, Mavic Cosmos.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.