Bontrager Select wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Rims are welded for superior strength and machined for smooth braking; semi-aero front rim provides excellent aerodynamics, while rear rim with OSB improves lateral rigidity, prolongs wheel life – this wheel is extremely comfortable for those long century rides
  • Hubset utilizes forged shell with hardened, ground and polished cones and races, and Cro-moly axles; hubs are fully serviceable and replacement parts are available at your local Bontrager dealer
  • Spokes are 14/15G butted stainless steel with brass locking nipples; J-bend type allows for replacement with any standard 14G spoke in a pinch
  • Bontrager Race Lite Road Cro-moly skewers included
  • Weight: 835/1020 grams

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 51  
    [Sep 10, 2021]
    boorish1973


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Sturdy, bombproof actually. Railroads, potholes no problem. They are still true, but the rear wheel has gone slightly out of round. -- Paving Stones

    Weakness:

    None so far

    Purchased:
    New  
    [May 27, 2015]
    Scott Harris
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Durability

    Weakness:

    Flexy

    Ive been using a rear bontrager select track wheel as my main beater for 3 years now. I work as a bike messenger on brakeless track bike in the midwest. Three winters and counting with this wheel. Ive only replaced the bearings once. Its truly amazing how long this wheel has stood the test of time, especially considering the lesser spoke count.

    [Apr 30, 2015]
    geo
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    They look pretty good

    Weakness:

    Creaky, paired spokes were an unfortunate trend

    Came on on my Trek 1500.
    These wheels have been fine for years. They creak while climbing. Recently I locked up the brakes while stopping suddenly and the rear rim deformed beyond repair.... I'm attributing this to their age and the paired spokes.

    [Apr 11, 2012]
    Gary D
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Look decent,stay true,spin well

    Weakness:

    none so far





    Have one on the rear of my 76 takara,got the wheel from a friend.So far I'm pleased with it plenty strong I ride 200 to 300 km a week and weigh 70kg.For what it is I totally have no complaints.










    [May 25, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Look Good,
    Handled anything I threw at them including a couple of at speed incidents in the Peleton

    Weakness:

    None that I know off.

    I road a pair of these from new for 42000 km until I sold the bike. This was over a 4 year period and I only broke one spoke which was caused by snapping a branch off in the rear wheel flicked up from road. I am around 82 kg. Great Product and they look good.

    Similar Products Used:

    Fulcrum Racing 7

    [Jan 11, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    look good
    light
    paired spokes
    good stock wheel

    Weakness:

    hubs creek and need tuning

    these are pritty good wheels for stock and for starting out but bying another pair and useing these as spairs would be a good idea.

    Similar Products Used:

    bontreger ssl

    [Aug 26, 2008]
    Quixote
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Sturdy, bombproof actually. Railroads, potholes no problem. They are still true, but the rear wheel has gone slightly out of round.

    Weakness:

    Unforgiving on rough chip seal pavement compared to a carbon rim. Due to their weight, they are not very responsive, certainly not for use on any serious hills, and they really aren't aerodynamic.

    These rims came stock on my bike. I use them for training and off season rolling. They have about 6000km on them and have no cracks. They are an OK rim -not very resopnsive, but good for training or communting I suppose. Bombproof in my experience. I wouldn't and don't race with them.

    [Aug 20, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Look cool

    Weakness:

    Paired spokes require too high tension and leave too much unsupported rim between the spoke pairs.

    These Wheels came on my Trek 1500. After 1 year and about 3000 miles the rear rim has developed cracks around several spoke holes. If you are a large and/or powerful rider these wheels are a bad idea.

    Similar Products Used:

    Neuvation M28 Aeros

    [Jul 26, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Looks, cheap.

    Weakness:

    Durability.

    Bontrager Selects came with my 2007 Trek 1400. The front is still working okay after 7500 miles although the hub is starting to suffer. I had to replace the rear after 3000 miles - spokes had snapped several times and the hub had reached the end of its life. Braking surface on the rims was also in bad shape. I'm quite a heavy rider (85kg) and I do use the bike pretty hard (150+ miles per week with Scottish weather and roads). I definitely needed something tougher.

    Similar Products Used:

    Mavic Open Pro/Shimano 105 rear - much tougher - great for heavier rider.

    [Jun 20, 2008]
    Bill Golembieski
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Durable(so far), not tooo expensive, somewhat aero, and preforms well on the hills

    Weakness:

    Front hub creaks after a while.

    I've had these wheels for a little over a year now and have ridden them with no problem so far. Around mile 1000 started to notice a creaking noise from the front hub when I stand up to accelerate. Other than that these wheels are a great for beginners. They are also great back-up and training wheels. Mine haven't cracked at all despite other reviews. They roll pretty well for the price. They are pretty decent on the hills. I would recommend buying these wheels for training / light racing. I'm 155lbs and I haven't had to true them yet even though Ive hit a bunch of potholes, rode off road, and had my fair share of crashes. Once again a great wheel for the price.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.