Mavic Helium wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Maxtal SUP welded rim, red anodized double eyelets.
  • UB Control brake sidewalls.
  • Integrated free wheel hub with FTS system.
  • Adjustable, removable, sealed cartridge bearings. QRM.
  • M9 compatible free wheel.
  • Stainless steel straight-pull spokes, brass nipples.
  • Front 26 radial straight spokes.
  • Rear 28 straight spokes crossed 3 on the free wheel side, radial on the opposite side.
  • Delivered with the Mavic composite quick release with high ratio closure, adjustment tool and rim tape.
  • For 19 - 23 mm tires.
  • Tire pressure from 7 to 9.5 bars/100 to 140 PSI.

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 57  
    [Feb 25, 2021]
    ReneWhite


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I bought the Helium wheels when they first arrived in the cycling world. I absolutely love them. they were incredibly light at the time (and still fairly light when compared to others now). I have ~50K miles on them and have ridden over some very rough terrain and they have held up (stayed true for the most part). I think the front bearing is going out in the front wheel, and the rear wheel is slight out of round. But they have held up incredibly well given the time and miles. Still cycling with them on my Serotta Ti.

    Weakness:

    None - the slightly out of round rear wheel and front bearing beginning to show wear is expected with this many miles/years. So no disappointment here.

    Price Paid:
    can't remember
    Purchased:
    New  
    [Jul 10, 2014]
    Tim

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Durability, serviceability, lightweight.

    Weakness:

    Availability?

    Both my wife and I have been riding our Heliums for over 12 years. After three years of often rainy rides while living in the Caribberan, my front bearing needed replacement, which was handily done by a shop stateside. Granted, we are both bantamweights (<150 lbs), but these have never needed truing until recently, when I ran over my front wheel with my Jeep. Yup - direct hit, ran right over the middle of the He wheel with both front and rear Grand Cherokee tires. Result? Quick release lever side of skewer bent over at 90 degrees, causing a small (~ 5mm) piece of the axle to chip, and about a potatoe chip waver of less than 1mm, readily corrected by standing on the high spots! Now if only I could fnd a repalcement skewer, they'd be nearly good as new.

    [Jul 11, 2012]
    Drafter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Light weight, reliable, easy to work on, spokes easy to find. Great color. Love the QRs.

    Weakness:

    They don't still make this design

    Last night was the death of my Heliums. The death of a wheelset may prompt a bad review for some, but I looked at the life that both sets of my Helium wheels have had and am inspired to type a positive memoir instead. To be accurate, I have had 2 sets of these wheels that were both replaced this year. One set had 13 years of road riding and the second had 8 years on the road and 4 as a CX wheel. The only maintenance needed in the average year was a little truing and some grease in the hub. I had to replace 3 spokes over the years and SAPIM straight pull proved to be easy to come by and inexpensive, especially compared to some of the proprietary spokes on the market. Ride quality was great, they spin up fast, and look beautiful. If I had a crack at a new set, I would buy them again, even with more modern designs on the market. RIP Heliums. You will be missed.

    [Mar 28, 2010]
    redlemond aide
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    anodizing looks nice.

    Weakness:

    the idiots who own them.

    these wheels aren't the newest or lightest, but i think most of the people who reviewed the product don't know how to true radial laced wheels, or their mechanic is a neandertal. i weigh from 210-220 day in and day out. i have never had issues, i barely do any maintenance--i check spoke tension every other month and they are never out. i suggest they purchase a tensionometer and a truing stand and figure out what the heck they are doing. these wheels have a relatively high spoke count by today's standards and are fairly easy to maintain. i ride a moderate amount, about 400 miles per month by the way.

    Similar Products Used:

    mavic open pro/chris king hubs

    [May 18, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Very durable

    Weakness:

    no weaknesses

    Excellent wheels. Very high quality. They still remain true to this very day. I wouldn't change them for anything.

    [May 14, 2009]
    Brittonyoung
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    im a 170 lbrider ,,,,, i order all my wheels from Dave, his company is called Speedream Wheels!!!!

    Weakness:

    ----------------------------------------------------

    Mavic is the worst wheels ive ever bought. The first was the Mavic Helium and the second was the Mavic Ksyrium. I will never send any whell back to the company unless i dont want it in return. They take forever to repair, and design is too fragile, ive never had such a problem with truing a wheelste such as the Mavic Helium.

    Similar Products Used:

    THey Mavic scewers are awesome, thats the only good stuff Mavic makes

    [Feb 09, 2009]
    kato258
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I was a little concerned about the light weight and lower spoke count. But I've not had a single problem in 1500 miles (and we have few potholes around Chicago).

    Weakness:

    The decals are peeling. Not aero but I'm not that fast enought for it to matter. Hub ratchet is louder than my Ultegra's.

    I purchased these used. These turned out to be a great wheelset buy. I've used these all last season on my 2nd bike with ZERO problems. Light, true and fast.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ultegra hubs w/ Mavic Open Pro rims.

    [May 14, 2008]
    aaron
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    they look good hanging on the wall of my garage

    Weakness:

    rear wheel is poop!

    i have a set of heliums with new rims and destroyed! the rear rim, rear does not stay true mainly due to the dish of the wheel creates one side to be weaker in tension thus creating a constant trueing of the wheel every 20 miles garunteed, the front wheel is fikkin awesome though and spin nice. my recommendation is to NOT get these at all! there worse than my crappy fsa wheels. those french guys lol

    Similar Products Used:

    ksyrium sl3 and cosmos

    [Nov 13, 2007]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    -light
    -look good

    Weakness:

    -weak
    -dealers and mavic sold these wheels knowing
    that they would not work for some riders]
    -shouldn,t there be a code of ethics for this type of thing?

    l have had no problem with mavic stuff in the past (bomb proof), BUT these wheels where the greatist let down l have ever had when buyong bike equipment.
    Every ride or race they would go out of true
    taking about 20-30 miles to do so.
    Stong wheels these are not. l way 185lb an dont mind a sprint which l could do on these, once before trueing.
    Since using these wheels l have refused to
    buy any wheels bellow 32 spoke count because l couldn't afford to replace the wheeels should they not work.
    It is know 2007 and l can get a wheel built that is the same weight or less in a clincher so l happy with that.
    There should have been a recall by mavic or a directive to dealers that they should not have been sold to large riders with power who like to race.
    l would not buy one of mavics low spoke count wheels with out visual proof that they are strong and can last.
    Shame mavic Shame.

    Similar Products Used:

    cd2 with mavic dakar hubs
    cpx14 ultrgra hubs all 32 spoke count

    [Nov 04, 2007]
    Moabman
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Durability, lightness, strength, lack of maintenance

    Weakness:

    ????

    Bought wheels with complete bike new in 2000. Amazing wheels. Worried about how well they'd stand up over time given my weight (180) but they've been incredible. They go forever with little truing. Can't beat them. Finally started delaminating after 7 years of use.

    Similar Products Used:

    Various Mavic wheels

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.