Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • UB Control braking surface
  • Integrated freewheel hub with FTS-L system
  • Adjustable, removable, sealed cartridge bearings QRM.
  • Aerodynamic Zycral straight pull spokes with integrated auto-lock aluminum nipples and anti-rotation system.
  • 18 front spokes, 20 rear spokes.
  • Radial front spokes, Isopulse rear spokes.
  • Weight:
     Ã¸ 700 clincher: Front 690g / Rear 840g M10.
     Ã¸ 700 tubular: Front 680g / Rear 830g.

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 222  
    [Feb 17, 2021]
    jeffbozo


    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Stiff! Fairly light considering how strong these wheels are. Look great.

    Purchased:
    Used  
    [Oct 26, 2016]
    Peteypabloatl
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I'm writing this review to support a bullet/boom proof wheel set. I brought my wheel set used on eBay back in 2006 and I still use them today. I ran through my Mavic Elites in less than one season on my 2003 TCR1 Composite. This wheels replaced them and for 3 years after that no maintenance. Picked up a Cervelo R3 in 2009 and my lbs build a wheel set for me knowing I was 240 lbs. During the first year I broke 5 - 6 spokes in less than 5K. After the last time when I was told they wouldn't fix under warranty I when back to my SSC SL. I ride them through today and I've only remember truing the rear wheel twice. These spin up really well and they are awesome at speed. I truly only notice a difference when using carbon wheels in a climb.

    Weakness:

    There are lighter wheels out there. All the road feel is transmitted through the wheels (most of us think this is good). You must clean the rims they loose their shine quickly so your bike looks good but you feel like you need to clean the wheels. If there is a tight tire fit with other wheels this will be even closer.

    Great training wheels. If you count total cost of ownership these are the cheapest wheels bar none. The stiffness and durability of these wheels can't be matched unless you are willing to pay more than twice the price of retail.

    [Aug 06, 2015]
    MGS Recreational Rider
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Bomb Proof for > 200 lbs riders
    Excellent Value to weight ratio
    Smooth & Fast Ride
    Minimal upkeep
    Fanstastic Durability

    Weakness:

    None

    I bought these back in 2004 new for my Al Cannondale Triple R800 bike for doing century rides and sports training. I than switched them out to my new Cannondale Ultegra Carbon Synapse that came with the Mavic Equipe wheel set which I put on the R800 and sold them. Just today I found out from my LBS that my rear wheel has some cracks in them and they need to rebuild the rim which will cost $150 + labor + $4 for the spoke. That is 11 &1/2 years of use and I weigh over 210lbs these days since riding less then I used to (40- 60miles/wk versus 200-300/week). These rims have a lot of miles on them as I use to ride about 4-5K+ miles/year when I wasn't flying around the globe and could ride to and from work. It always makes me laugh when people are talking about shaving a couple of hundred grams off since a lot easier & cheaper to lose that off my rear end then spend all the extra $$ on rims. So the newer rims are about 6 - 7oz less at 170 - 200g so if concerned about weight I'm sure you can find other places to lose the weight. I carry a lot of extra's in my wedge bag and Camelback.

    These rims are smooth, fast and bomb proof for us "bigger guys" and came recommended to me from several bike shops and friends when I was looking. I have broken 4 spokes over the last 11&1/2 years out where I live. This was mainly due to hittin potholes (one was large and very deep) or debris on the street and that I couldn't see due to being in the shade or looking directly into the sun, so my fault. As for the aerodynamics, the only time I notice it is in a heavy crosswind of > 14+ mph AND if a big truck or SUV comes roaring close by me at the same time usually doing > 50 mph. Other then that no issues and great aerodynamics into a headwind (if you consider headwind great). I do not hesitate to recommend them to my riding partners.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ritchey, Shimano, Cannondale

    [Jan 22, 2015]
    jayB
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Fast, solid, comfy, and quiet

    Weakness:

    bought mine used so needs some work

    love this wheels already after. my first ride. bought mine used from eBay. this wheels feels pretty solid, almost one of those pro level bikes and also pretty quiet. to my surprise the ride is not even harsh. i have the elite and my butt will scream after 45 mins. since i bought it used my issue is that is a bit heavy to pedal. so it needs some work done. i'm thinking about replacing the bearings eventually. the brakes too is strong - much better than my elite. Boy, does it grab! for now it's hard to accelerate and pretty much doubt i can climb. but if i ever fix it, i'm more incline to buy another. i'm apprehensive of buying the SL S because it might not give me the same ride and feel. these wheels feel very solid. if YOU can ride more 20mph and hold it, consider yourself a pro because pedaling after 20mph get much easier.

    Similar Products Used:

    mavic ksyrium elite

    [Jun 15, 2014]
    Darren Dutton
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Durable, reasonably light, low maintenance

    Weakness:

    Probably not the most supple wheel out there.

    The last two reviews from Jordan and Thunders prompted me to offer my 2 cents. I have to agree with Jordan in that Thunders doesn't have a clue. I've been riding a set of SSC SLs for at least twelve years. Bottom line is they been virtually bombproof. I've had to have them trued one time, otherwise they have been great wheels. Arguably I don't have a lot to compare them to, but in my opinion (if the quality remains the same) these are a great all around wheel set for the $$$. Good climbers and reasonably aero I ride in a lot of windy conditions & thus far have never found myself in the ditch due to the bladed spokes catching the wind. I recently bought a set of Reynolds Assault carbon aero wheels and they catch much more crosswinds than the Mavic SSC SLs. Also was very disappointed to have a spoke break after less than 500 miles on the Reynolds. Back to the Mavics - for $$$ you can't go wrong. Great all around wheel set which at least for me have lasted for years!

    Similar Products Used:

    Reynolds Assault

    [May 22, 2014]
    Jordan

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Don't know.

    Weakness:

    Don't know.

    I haven't ridden these wheels, but I'm writing to discredit John Thunders' review from March 24, 2014 because it's asinine.

    A 1500g clincher is reasonably light and certainly is not the threshold for a heavy wheel. Sure, the claimed 1510g for the Ksyrium SSC SL is not Super Light as the SL would imply, but it's more or less on par with wheels at its price point.

    And the claim that you can build your own 900g wheelset? Lunacy! You're looking at roughly 375g per rim (Stan's), plus about 300g total for the American Classic hubs, plus 4.25g a piece for Sapim's CX. Even if you only lace 18 front and 20 rear, that's still another 161g. That gives you an 1211g wheel. Really light, but nowhere near 900g. Don't get me started on that $500 estimate either, which is off my several hundred plus labor.

    And don't worry about "end-up"ing in a ditch. Bladed spokes are barely noticeable.

    In short, John Thunders is an idiot.

    [Mar 24, 2014]
    John Thunders

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    They are strong and that's about as far as their strengths go.

    Weakness:

    Heavy .Any wheelset that's 1500 + grams is heavy. They are made that way to avoid collapsing under the weight of 200 lb riders. It's all about liability. If you want light wheels (900 gram total) then build your own.
    American Classic hubs, Sapim cx-ray spokes and Chinese rims. There you have it all for about $500.

    Fine if you ride weekends on a calm day. When these wheels with their wide spokes get rolling it's like riding a solid wheel. Expect to end-up in a ditch somewhere.

    [Aug 21, 2011]
    dhtucker4
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Light, never go out of true, meant for great tires, no need for rim tape, very strong.

    Weakness:

    Adjustable bearings in the rear, Zicral spokes need a Mavic-made spoke key, and Mavic hubs.

    Bombproof wheels. 'Nuff said. I find that the Zicral spokes are not as bad as having a high-profile wheelset, no trouble with crosswinds. Potholes, etc. - these wheels shrug them off and keep on truckin'. Some people in my riding group have the same wheelset and said they are too harsh or too stiff.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ritchey Pro wheels, Coda wheels, Velocity Aerohead wheels, Easton Vista wheels.

    [Jul 08, 2011]
    Wayne Martinez
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Never had to true. Never dented on severe hits. Tubeless without tape.

    Weakness:

    The aerodynamic spokes are affected by cross winds. For truth in advertizing, I have never used high profile rims. Due to high wind along Turnagain Arm,(30 to 55mph), standard rims are scary enough. Downhill descents in high winds seem to affect all wheels I've been on, but these hold the line at at higher speeds.

    Have been through multiple light weight weight wheel sets over the past 30 years and unless you weigh less than 160lbs. you can't beat these wheels. They will handle any weight division, from fly weight to sumo. They have stayed true after multiple misjudged jumps and potholes on nasty Alaskan roads. On top of that, tack on some tubeless tires without having to add tape, and you have wheels that will go for seasons without a flat. How many races have been lost due to a flat?

    Similar Products Used:

    American Classic, nothing spins longer,but made for lightweights. Durace 7800s, they spin almost as long, but are 9 speed. Rolf, which I traded for the Ksyriums.

    [May 28, 2011]
    swooshe
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Strong, light, fast, and dependable.

    Weakness:

    Zircal spokes are wide and can blow you all over the road in a crosswind.

    These are lightweight bombproof wheels. I have used them for 5 years and had no issues except for the bearings finally needing to be replaced after more than 25,000 miles.

    Similar Products Used:

    Easton EA90 SLX, Velomax Orion II, Mavic GL330, Mavic MA40, Campy Omega

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.