ROL Wheels 2005 SL 28 Road wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

The SL 28 is SOLD OUT and has been replaced by the all-new VOLANT for 2007.

We designed the SL28 to be the perfect combination of performance, affordability, and reliability. Designed to handle over 10,000 miles of riding per year, the SL28 is a great choice for the rider looking to log those important training miles or the racer looking for affordable performance and aerodynamic edge. Pro Ironman Triathlete Gregory Zgliczynski used the SL28 for a best time of 6 hours 6 minutes in this years Triple Bypass in Colorado, a grueling 120 miles road ride from Evergreen to Beaver Creek Colorado. Finally, world-class performance made affordable!

·28 mm Aero Rim for increased stiffness & aerodynamics
·Rock solid performance & durability
·CNC machined hubs from Forged Aluminum
· A perfect racing & training wheel set
·4.2mm Bladed Aero Spokes drawn from the highest grade European Stainless Steel
· 16 spoke front/ 20 spoke rear ·includes skewers
·Only 1710 grams!
·Shimano Compatible

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 34  
[Aug 27, 2010]
Alan Fleischmann
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Rock solid. True. Stong. Straight. Light. Accellerate great. Love the Aerolite spokes. And they look good!

Weakness:

None yet, after 1000 miles

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Rock solid. True. Stong. Straight. Light. Accellerate great. These replaced my Bontragers that came with my Trek Madone Project One 5.2. I like everything on the bike but those Bontrager wheels. These ROLs are the BOMB!

Similar Products Used:

Rolf Vector Comp. Bontrager Race Lite

[Jan 28, 2009]
Dave
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

I think the wheels have great bearings,
they spin up very well.

Weakness:

Possible quality issues.

I bought these wheels at a great price and used them in daily training rides as well as ten crits in 2006. I thought they were a great value. Last year I had part of the rear hub break where the spoke was attached. I called Sean and he sent me a new Volant rear wheel for replacement. See my Volant review too.

Similar Products Used:

none

[Sep 06, 2007]
magicsquare
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stable at speed, great road feel, quiet and boy can they roll.

Weakness:

none so far

Great wheel set. It replaced a set of mavic cosmics and is such a difference. I immediately felt the added stiffness. I knew I could push the wheel a lot harder. The added stiffness didn't make the bike ride harsh but I just feel the road better. I hang my bike in the basement when not in use. All my friends that come to fix their bikes spin the Rols and are dumfounded by how well they spin, front and rear. As for customer service I can't comment because the wheels have been great since day one. I don't know if there are better wheels out there for the price, but I doubt it. Buy them.

Similar Products Used:

mavic, dt, sun, shimano

[May 02, 2007]
Adam
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strong, reliable, VERY light and the hubs are very smooth rolling. Sean is awesome to deal with and all queries are dealt with promptly.

Weakness:

They are in America and haven't a dealer hear but that will change soon. I bought from America and the service was better than most shops in London!

I set about finding some wheels and, not wanting the tried and common Mavic wheels, I set about finding a light weight alternative. The cycling news website suggested the ROL Wheels and I inquired further to find that the Colorado business is very respectable and take great pride in their business - prompt and polite relies to all my questions. Sean, owner I think, was always willing to oblige with answers to questions like type of spokes = Sapin, Rims = standard, Hub = ROL's own and very light.

Upon receiving the wheels I was amazed that after their journey from America to London they were perfectly round and true. The first ride proved they were stiff and could handle being pushed into and through the tightest corner at speed and the wheels don't mind you sprinting on them either. Although a climbing specific wheel set I have been putting them through their paces on the roads around Essex and they have not missed a beat - perfectly true.

I can not recommend these wheels highly enough - strong, reliable, VERY light and the hubs are very smooth rolling.

Similar Products Used:

Spinargy Xaero, Mavic SL

[Feb 19, 2007]
Scott Toll
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Out-of-the-box quality. Excellent customer service. Reasonable price. Outstanding training and race day performance.

Weakness:

The quick release levers are too wide for some older model fluid trainers.

Excellent wheelset!

Straight and true out of the box. High quality rim, using spokes, nipples, and hubs to match.

I trained on the wheels a good part of a week, then raced them on a 55 mile rolling to flat course with a multiple pitch finish ending with a 1000 m @ 12% grade.

The first thing I noticed on my initial ride was how smooth the wheels are. They ride stiff, but absorb quite a bit of the road harshness. They are an extremely quiet wheelset compared to others in the peloton. Most importantly for me they spin up quickly, and accelerate incredibly when coming out of a corner, onto a climb and into a sprint.

The only weakness is that the quick release lever is too wide for my CyclOps trainer, which I didn't realize until I went to warm up before a race.

ROL Wheels has done a great job putting together a reasonably priced wheelset that is fit for hard, year-long training and yes, even racing. At 1635 g the Volant wheelset feels and rides like more expensive 1450 g wheels, at a fraction of the cost.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Open Pro, Bontrager Race X Lite, Rolf Vigor

[Feb 07, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, strong, attractive, great customer service

Weakness:

none

Just received my Volant's yesterday. Amazing customer service as is echoed throughout other reviews. Sean called me twice and included some goodies along with a gorgeous wheelset. Light, good looking, bombproof, and a bargain. I will follow up after logging some miles, but I already know ROL will be my wheel of choice from here on.

Similar Products Used:

shimano 550, kysrium

[Jan 18, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Value for money, minimal flex

Weakness:

None, at least not for $200!!

Amazing value for the money. Replaced Shimano WH-R550s and no comparison. LBS noticed a problem with the cassette body and Sean immediately FedEx'd replacement along with $15 check to cover labor (along with a shirt and hat). How's that for customer service....

Similar Products Used:

Shimano WH-R550

[Nov 28, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Beautiful
Strong
Quiet
Awsome price

Weakness:

None that I have found, and confident that Sean would make it right if there was one.

I'm 6ft 204 lbs so a strong wheel is not just nice but a necessity. I was looking to upgrade from the stock ALX 320 that came on by first road ride. Googled wheels, found RoL, ordered and never looked back. Had some questions called Sean, talked for 30 mins about the wheels and cycling. That sold me! In a time where customer service has all but disappeared, Sean knows what's important, the buyer. I cannot say enough about his product. Super quiet hubs, they never hear me coming.

Similar Products Used:

ALX 320

[Nov 07, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Rock solid
Reasonably light
Inexpensive - I got the closeout 2005s.

Weakness:

Haven't noticed any

Only the second set of road wheels I've ever owned; these replaced an aging set of Ritchey's that wouldn't stay true. Nevertheless, these wheels are superb - even if you don't factor in cost. Considering cost, they're unbeatable. On the very first ride with them I inadvertently left the pavement and t-boned a concrete block that was several inches high. I assumed (1) that I was going over the handlebars and (2) one or both wheels would be ruined. Guess what? Neither occurred! The only thing I did was knock the rear wheel very slightly out of true. Amazing! To date, I have approximately 2000 miles on them.

Similar Products Used:

Ritchey Aeros

[Oct 24, 2006]
Luke
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The customer service was great! 10 out of 10. Nothing like having the president of the company call you back to answer your questions and standing behind their wheels 100% Sean, Thank you!

Weakness:

Nothing so far. Sean did say they would need to be trued once and he was right. The guys at the bike shop were impressed with the quality of the wheel and their jaws dropped when I said I paid $200.00 for the pair.

My Rolf Vector Pros died this summer (cracked the rear hub (pothole) and I was looking for new wheels. I tried the "bomb proof" Mavic Ksyrium and cracked them on ONE recovery ride. I needed new wheels before the The Timberman 70.3 in NH and was running out of time. Being 6'4" and 220 I needed the wheels to be strong and light. After reading the reviews here and talking with Sean at Rolwheels.com, I to a shot and tried them.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Elite and Ksyrium. Rolf Vector Pros

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.