Zipp Speed Weaponry 202 Tubular wheelsets - tubular

DESCRIPTION

At just 1,095 grams, the Zipp 202 Tubular wheelset is light enough to climb like a billy goatyet still power through the cobbles.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Mar 01, 2021]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Too many spokes for time trialing (probably necessary because of the weakness of the rims). Catalogue company and Zipp acted that since I got a good deal (on an inferior product) I was to blame.

Purchased:
Used  
[Jul 17, 2011]
Straight Pimp
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Straight light weight and strength homie

Weakness:

Carbon weave does not match my crunk teeth

I went up the Swiss Alps spinning like a straight twista with a straight block in the back. Basically, Contador could not have help my wheel riding a GXSR

Similar Products Used:

You name it...I've ridden it. I am an Old G Playa

[Dec 01, 2010]
lenslock
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Weight, hubs, aero but shallow. Strong.

Weakness:

Price. But there are plenty more expensive and worse.

This review is for the 2010 tubular 202s (there is no clincher version, but for the avoidance of doubt etc.). I'm liking these ... the new hubs are unreasonably smooth ... in the stand they are pendulous around the valve and will spin for minutes back and forth. They have a nice wide tyre bed that mates perfectly with a 23mm tyre and a 25mm works well too. Nice "pro" look and 32mm toroidal rim with dimples cuts the air nicely. Stiffness is good if not spectacular - about the same as Boras. Comfort is very good. Climbing, descending, flats, these hoops do it all. 1095g for the set. Finally I've had some hard impacts wit these and they've stood up - seems Zipp has sorted their durability issues.

Similar Products Used:

Lots.

[Sep 09, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Light, climb like crazy.

Weakness:

Fu*@in Flex!

Hmm...these are definitely light as batsh*t and climb like a goat banging EPO. I used these on a climb up to the top of Mt Evans and was spinning nicely on no lower than a 39-23 to the top. Here's my disclaimer: These are actually Zipp 202's laced to Cane Creek and sold as Cane Creek Aros so the hub is probably better than the Zipp hub that everyone is complaining about. I'll say this though...these are flexy as all getout. I can pull and push the rim a good 5mm each side and I can sure feel it on downhills. I have to do a LOT of correcting at speeds over 40mph and I'm not even sure going down on these is worth that. By comparison my Protons are as solid as Han Solo in carbonite. If the 202's on Zipp hubs act the same way, my suggestion would be to use these only for hill climbs and/or as TT riders if you're in a Merckx class but not if you plan on dive bombing off the summit unless you are REAL comfortable with downhills. FYI, I'm REAL comfortable with downhills and these make me not so much.

[Apr 01, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Ultra light weight. My bike went from 7.5 kg's to 6.8.
Utlra acceleration.
They look cool (in black, 2008 model) without being overly bling.
Standard spokes mean easy repairs.

Weakness:

After completing a stage race in the Norwegian Alps last season the bearings in the rear wheel (from 2005) had turnes to powder! Since I bought the wheels used I have no idea if this is due to previous milage or abuse bafore I got them. Many of the hills were in excess of 10km with up to 22% gradients, so the whole drivetrain was under extreme pressure.
If buying used, make sure you try them while mounted on a bike (to check that braking is in order). Check also for lateral cracks in the rims.

I had a pair of 202's from 2005 that I bought used on the net last season. The improved acceleration and drop in bike weight was amazing. I have a pair of Mavic Kysirium SL wheels that were ment to be used as training wheels...forget it! I coudn't go back to the Mavic's after the 202's. I struggled getting brakes to work with them. It turned out the rim was thicker in one spot wich obviously is not good. So this season I approached the importer and they were able to replace the old 202's with the new 2008 202's.
Zipp claim many improvements for the new wheels, most notably higher profile now with dimpling (and black). They seem to perform the same as my old ones except now the braking works.
I am 75 kg's and have never had any issues with strength despite some heavy impacts. The season is still young but after two visits to the mountains of Mallorca (Spain) this spring all seems to be as it should.

Similar Products Used:

These were my first carbon rimed wheels.

[Oct 08, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight
Stiff
Very responsive

Weakness:

Not crazy about the reddish finish

After having ridden my Zipp 404s for close on 6 months, I decided I needed a non-aero set of tubbies for windy and very hilly conditions. I decided to go for tubbies as a lightweight option to my clinchers. On the basis of the 404s I decided to stick with Zipp and am not disappointed. The same hub and spoke are mated to a much shallower rim providing a wheel more 200g lighter and less susceptible to side winds. I am very happy with their performance so far. They are pretty stiff and the weight reduction from my clinchers (Dura Ace and Easton Circuits) is very noticable. They spin up very nicely and are great for hills and provide the same performance as clichers weighing 700g more in windy conditions!

Similar Products Used:

Dura Ace clinchers
Easton Circuit clinchers
Zipp 404

[Aug 30, 2006]
ghostrider1tm
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

if you're a billionaire and have money to burn every then this is the wheelset for you, except to pay 1600 for the set and about 400 a month to have the rims replaced, good luck...oh ya they're light

Weakness:

customer service, they don't stand behing their product, they make garbage, they know it and they package it like it's great, once it breaks you're screwed

these rims are garbage, i cracked the rear wheel and didn't even know it, went to get wheel trued and mechanic showed me where rim was cracked, i only weigh 145lbs and hadn't hit anything. zipp said it was user error and charged me over $350 to replace and rebuild wheel, this after only a couple monthes of use and me having paid FULL RETAIL!!! i will never buy another zipp product as long as i live, i doesn't matter how light the wheel may be, if they break you can't ride 'em.

Similar Products Used:

mavic carbone pro's with the mps protection plan you can ride them daily with no fear hurting them, no questions asked repair...i've ridden them for almost the entire season and haven't had a single problem...rims much more aero and hubs smoother too

[Sep 13, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Light, very cool looking

Weakness:

Poss, hubs

I purchased these wheels based on the positive reviews I've read and my conversations with ZIPP employees. I noticed there were very few if any neg reviews. After picking the wheels up I tried them on one of the climbs that I train on it’s about 5mil/2000 ft elv and I notice I had to work harder with these wheels than my Mavic's even with a 12/27 cassette. I figured that it was me and maybe I was tired from all the training and pressed on with my plan to ride my new 202’s in the Cycle to the Sun race on Maui, after all these wheels are bullet proof right? Well, about 11 miles into the race I began feeling a lot of resistance and with each peddle stroke I felt like I was riding a stationary bike with the resistance turned all the way up. After a while I could even hear a scratching sound but whenever the bike mechanics looked at it they could not duplicate it. So unfortunately I only made 30 of the 36 mil climb due to my legs being fatigued from the resistance I was working against. After the race and having to hold my head down in shame I had my LBS look at the wheels and they found nothing either and seemed to look at me like I was a whimp. So, I decided to break the hubs down myself. What I found was that the bearing race on the inside of cassette body disintegrated and scored the axle, it was amazing to see because some of the ball bearings were actually cut in half. I have contacted ZIPP and they gave me a RA number so I am sure that they will cover the repairs. For me though, the whole thing is a big bummer because of the time I spent training and the expense of the trip to Maui and having it all end with out completing the climb. After the repairs are made I'll write another review

Similar Products Used:

Mavic SSC/SL

[Dec 29, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Weight, standard spokes (don'thave to take the tire off!). Switchable from campy to shimano if necessary.

Weakness:

Pricey.

The first ride on these wheels I was amazed at the accelleration. The stiffness has been better then I thought. Hammer hard up a hill on the pedals and no problem. I've only got 500 miles so far but the durability has been good too.

Similar Products Used:

Rolf, Reynolds.

[Dec 13, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strong, light, fairly aero, lighting fast acceleration, tough enough, neat looks.

Weakness:

Evidently a serious road hazard taken roughly can destroy a bicycle wheel, as noted below. How 'bout that?

3 months down the road and I'm still very pleased with these wheels. They stood up to one crash (look out for millwork at night, yikes). They were easy to adjust wheen needed. They look great and are fun to ride. I have some DT Swiss RR 1.1s w DT 240S hubs and DT spokes for training now, and these will be my race wheels.

Similar Products Used:

Rolfs, Zipp 440s, 404s, Spinergy, lots of Mavic wheels.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.